Woodheys Primary School

Together Everyone Achieves More

Attendance

Governors

Welcome to the section of the website where you can find out more about the school’s governors, and the work that we do.

Our main role is to support the Headteacher and the staff – the phrase often used to describe this role is ‘a critical friend’. We help them to set and reach targets and to strive for excellence across the whole spectrum of school life.

Our legal duties include:-

 setting strategic direction, policies and objectives

  • approving the school budget
  • reviewing progress against the school's budget and objectives
  • appointing, challenging and supporting the headteacher

 The Governing Body meets collectively once every term. We also have a number of committees, who meet at least termly and focus on a specific area of school life - Personnel, Curriculum, Finance, Buildings Health and Safety, Performance Management.

There are several categories of governor, appointed by different groups that have an interest in the school.  These are:

-  Community governors,

-  Local Authority (LA),

-  Parents,

-  Staff.

All governors have equal status, however they are appointed.

Our Governing Body meetings are usually held in the evening. We attend training sessions and seminars to help us keep up to date with changes in schools and education and to help us do our job effectively. We also go into school to meet with the Headteacher and other members of staff to help us find out how the school is progressing towards its targets.

 

Meet our Governors.

 Mr Peter Armstrong -Chair of Governors/Sport Premium       email: peter.armstrong@woodheysprimaryschool.co.uk

                                       Mr Richard Mottershead  -Teaching and Learning                  email: richard.mottershead@woodheysprimaryschool.co.uk

                                        Julie Menzel -Co opted                                                             email:julie.menzel@woodheysprimaryschool.co.uk 

                                       Daniel Bunting - LEA                                                                  email:daniel.bunting@woodheysprimaryschool.co.uk

                                       Mr Mark Owen -Parent Governor                                              email: mark.owen@woodheysprimaryschool.co.uk

                                       Mr Paul Flynn - Staff                                                                 email: pflynn@woodheysprimaryschool.co.uk

                                       Mr Phil Bloor -Finance/Co opted                                             email: phil.bloor@woodheysprimaryschool.co.uk

                                       Mrs P Kimitris  -Staff                                                                 email; ykimitris@woodheysprimaryschool.co.uk

                                       Mrs Jacky Galloway- Vice Chair/SEND                                      e-mail: jacky.galloway@woodheysprimaryschool.co.uk 

                                       Mrs Kate Rigden - Parent Governor                                         email: kate.rigden@woodheysprimaryschool.co.uk

 

 

Governor Monitoring (document)

Governor Register of Interests (being updated)