Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

Woodheys Primary School

Working Together. Growing Together. Achieving Together.

Woodheys Primary School, Meadway, Sale, Cheshire, M33 4PG

0161 973 4478

Woodheys Primary School, Meadway, Sale, Cheshire, M33 4PG



Welcome to the section of the website where you can find out more about the school’s governors, and the work that we do.

Our main role is to support the Headteacher and the staff – the phrase often used to describe this role is ‘a critical friend’. We help them to set and reach targets and to strive for excellence across the whole spectrum of school life.

Our legal duties include:-

 setting strategic direction, policies and objectives

  • approving the school budget
  • reviewing progress against the school's budget and objectives
  • appointing, challenging and supporting the headteacher

 The Governing Body meets collectively once every term. We also have a number of committees, who meet at least termly and focus on a specific area of school life - Teaching & Learning (curriculum, personnel, recruitment), Finance and Premises (budget monitoring, health & safety, asset management) and Performance Management.

There are several categories of governor, appointed by different groups that have an interest in the school.  These are:

-  Community governors,

-  Local Authority (LA),

-  Parents,

-  Staff.

All governors have equal status, however they are appointed.

Our Governing Body meetings are usually held in the evening and for the time being have been held online via Teams. We attend training sessions and seminars to help us keep up to date with changes in schools and education and to help us do our job effectively. We also have face to face and online meetings with the Headteacher and other members of staff to help us find out how the school is progressing towards its targets.

Meet our Governors

Composition of Governors & Attendance 2021 / 22

Mr Peter Armstrong (Chair of Governors/Sport Premium)    email:

Mrs Jacky Galloway  (Vice Chair/SEND Governor)                 email: 

Mr Richard Mottershead  (co-opted Governor)                       email:

Mrs Julie Menzel (Co opted Governor)                                    email:

Mr Mark Owen (Co opted Governor)                                        email:

Mr Paul Flynn (Staff Governor)                                                 email:

Mrs J Fenney (Staff Governor)                                                  email:

Mrs Lauren Haider (Parent Governor)                                      email:            

Mr Shourjo Sarkar (Parent Governor)                                      email:

Ms Stacey Arnold (Co opted Governor)                                   email:    

Mrs Margaret Ryan (Parent Governor)                                      email:  

Cllr Rob Chilton (LA Governor)                                                email: